Pin this on Pinterest

Karat vs Carat

What's the difference between karats and carats?
  • “Carats” indicate the weight of diamonds and gemstones.
  • “Karats” indicate the quality of gold. 
The gold-quality system consists of 24 parts, or karats. Pure gold is called 24 karat (marked as 24k, 24kt, or 999). That means that 24 out of 24 parts of the metal are pure gold: 99.9% pure gold. 

You can always determine the percentage of gold by dividing the gold’s karat by 24. Eighteen karat (18k or 750) gold is 18/24: 18 parts gold and 6 parts other metals, or alloy. So 18k gold is 75% pure gold, 14k gold is 58% gold, 12k gold is 50% gold, and 10k gold is 42% gold. Refer to the “Alloy Recipes” chart, for more information on gold karats and alloys.
FIND MORE: metal

Want to leave a comment?

Only registered members of are allowed to leave comments. Registration is FREE and only takes a couple minutes.

Login or Register now.
Get awesome news, tips, & free stuff!